Libraries – the original Social Networks

library dragon

I was listening to the Scroobious Pip podcast (birthday edition) this morning where he interviewed his mum.
She sounds very nice.
She also works in a library.

She was advocating the role of libraries everywhere. I sympathised with her because, over the last few years, I’ve worked in several libraries in Perth, Dundee and Fife on behalf of their local authorities, running workshops and classes in using social media and digital media (filmmaking, storytelling, etc…).

As a direct consequence of doing this work I have a new found enthusiasm for libraries and there role in local communities. In lots of areas libraries are struggling to stay open but in others they are the hub of the community. The fact that you are reading this may mean that you have all that you need at your finger tips via the internet – however, by turning up at your local library for an event, to borrow a CD or… dare I say, borrow an actual book, you are helping to retain a service which, for some, is a life line.

putting social into social care 043

 

Click here to visit my LinkedIn page to watch a couple of short videos and tell me your memories of going to the library – or even what’s happening at your local library this summer!

One thought on “Libraries – the original Social Networks

  1. Well said Jon. I have really increased my use of social media thanks to one of your workshops in my local library but still continue to be inspired by their books…….it also helps that I work there part time!

Leave a Reply

